I find it sometimes really difficult to keep traditions alive. During the week you are running around crazy and then by the weekend you are so beat you just want to be thoroughly entertained by restaurants, mindless television, and laying on the couch (one of my favorite pastimes).
This weekend my focus was making memories. Friday none of us were feeling great so we spent the evening home and rested well. Saturday morning we had my mom and dad over for breakfast and the evening was pumpkin carving. Sunday after a nice lunch with friends, after our nap, and after a little mindless television and couch laying (I had to squeeze it in...just a little) I decided to enlighten Bella to a Grandma Owens' crepes. I did this in the spirit of trying to make memories and get traditions going. I had never made them for Bella before....or anyone else for that matter, but I gave it a shot. When Bella asked what I was making and I replied crepes she said "ewwwwww!" Once she saw the cinnamon and butter she began to be intrigued.
My grandmother always made them for me. Every visit. If I close my eyes- I'm in that kitchen: ducks, plastic table cloth, butter on the table, glass shaker with cinnamon sugar in it, and black & white chairs. She made them so fantastically- they were always perfect, always hot, and always circular.
However every once and while she would get one that was little misshaped and she always ate it. I felt bad because she gave me the ones that always looked perfect. Today when I made them for Bella before I even realized it, I ate the two that in no way favored the resemblance of circles. You know what, I didn't even mind. I bet that is exactly how she felt. It made me smile and it made me miss her.
Not everyone can be the June Cleaver. Props if you are one, but this is a blog for the modern Christian working mother. A place for advice, venting, encouragement and laughter about the day to day struggles and triumphs of living life as a working mom.
June Cleaver: Proverbs 31 ;)
Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Wednesday, October 13, 2010
time- more, please?
I went home from work sick on Tuesday. I picked up Bella and the first thing she said was "mom, you forgot my blankets." MOM FAIL! I felt terrrrrible! Luckily I picked her up before nap time so as soon as I got home we snuggled up real tight and took a almost a 4 hour nap. Both of us needed it! I woke up feeling better, but still sounding like a man. The weather was so gorgeous so we went outisde to spend some time. Although I felt pretty crappy, I took her out to play because I know the good weather will be gone too soon. While we were outside, Bella found two "cottony wish flowers" (I have no idea what they are really called). She picked them up and made a wish and blew hard. It sounds cheesey, but in that moment I thought my time with her is too short, she's grown up too fast, and she is far too smart. Those will be the last time those three year old hands hold a "cottony wish flower." This time next year she'll be a four year old picking the dandeloins for me. Atleast next year she'll still think they are beautiful flowers.
Sweatpants & It's 80 Degrees
It is simply impossible to gauge NWI weather in the fall. It will be 32 degrees at 6 am and then by 2 pm it's 85 degrees in full beating sun. I'm not complaining. I loooooooove good weather, but it gets tricky when you are dressing your kid for daycare.
The other day Bella had on a wind breaker outfit (play clothes...don't judge), t-shirt underneath, jacket, hat, & coat. When leaving at 6:45 am this outfit makes perfect sense. It's dark outside and it's freeeeeeezing. However, when I went outside on my lunch I practically broke a sweat from the building to my car because it was so hot outside. Then I think about Bella at recess pitting out in her windbreaker sweatsuit :(. Poor girl.
Moral of the story- utilize the weather button on your phone and don't dress for 6 am weather. Lesson learned!
The other day Bella had on a wind breaker outfit (play clothes...don't judge), t-shirt underneath, jacket, hat, & coat. When leaving at 6:45 am this outfit makes perfect sense. It's dark outside and it's freeeeeeezing. However, when I went outside on my lunch I practically broke a sweat from the building to my car because it was so hot outside. Then I think about Bella at recess pitting out in her windbreaker sweatsuit :(. Poor girl.
Moral of the story- utilize the weather button on your phone and don't dress for 6 am weather. Lesson learned!
Monday, October 11, 2010
Discipline...eeeek!
I don't know about you, but about one hour into my workday on Mondays I begin feeling guilty for any discipline I may have dished out over the weekend. In my mind, the weekends should be all shiny, happy picnic times that NEVER would involve yelling (my unrealistic mentality every Friday).
I'm looking for creative ways of punishment- which does not involve me having a Wal-Mart meltdown. You know the kind I'm talking about too. Bella is pretty obedient but pushes her boundaries much like any kid. Especially, with me. I"m thinking it is because she's upset I'm working and doesn't know how to articulate those emotions in words so she acts out and has called me a name like "poop cologne." Funny- but disrespectful.
Mike says I let her "get over on me" way too much. It's probably true, but I just feel so bad for being gone so much of her week. Does this feeling pass when they are in school full day?
Bottom line: She is a super sweet kid! Time outs and harsh talks usually work. I just need to get over my Monday discipline guilt factor and keep reminding myself kids love discipline...even when you work.
I'm looking for creative ways of punishment- which does not involve me having a Wal-Mart meltdown. You know the kind I'm talking about too. Bella is pretty obedient but pushes her boundaries much like any kid. Especially, with me. I"m thinking it is because she's upset I'm working and doesn't know how to articulate those emotions in words so she acts out and has called me a name like "poop cologne." Funny- but disrespectful.
Mike says I let her "get over on me" way too much. It's probably true, but I just feel so bad for being gone so much of her week. Does this feeling pass when they are in school full day?
Bottom line: She is a super sweet kid! Time outs and harsh talks usually work. I just need to get over my Monday discipline guilt factor and keep reminding myself kids love discipline...even when you work.
Thursday, October 7, 2010
Constant Exchange....SERIOUSLY?
Working moms are in a constant state of exchanging. You trade housework for quality time, quality time for exercising, errands for cooking, doing your hair "the good way" for more time to do kids hair in the morning, and healthy foods for convenient. I haven't yet seemed to be on top of it all.
I have searched and searched again for wisdom in attaining a balance of looking good, feeling good, looking clean, being clean, meeting every one's needs for quality time, and making sure Bella feels extra special everyday- bottom line: I have not found it yet.
I'm constantly trading one for the other and then constantly feeling guilty I choose the "other."
This post is pretty emo and maybe a little whiny. I'm open for advice.
I have searched and searched again for wisdom in attaining a balance of looking good, feeling good, looking clean, being clean, meeting every one's needs for quality time, and making sure Bella feels extra special everyday- bottom line: I have not found it yet.
I'm constantly trading one for the other and then constantly feeling guilty I choose the "other."
This post is pretty emo and maybe a little whiny. I'm open for advice.
Monday, October 4, 2010
How do friends "work"?
How do you manage friendships while being a working mom? I am no expert, but from trial and error (and mostly error) here's what I've found from my experience. Friendships are so important and so valuable to you being fulfilled while working, right? But where is the time for them? Friends who are moms and don't work or friends who work and don't have kids can leave you feeling guilty when you can't meet them for dinner or meet them for a movie. Here's what I've found to be successful for meaningful friendships:
Problem: phone conversations
Resolution: make your phone calls on the way to and from work or on lunch
Problem: hang out time
Resolution: I try to make "friend dinner plans" after 8:30 pm which is after bedtime
Problem: expectations
Resolution: have a conversation, a lot of hurt is developed when people start assuming feelings and situations about others.
Problem: inconsistency
Resolution: Be consistent - the thing I most regret when I went back to work is the pattern of inconsistency I developed while working. I couldn't find balance. I have learned to set reminders in my cell phone to call people back.
Problem: homebody
Resolution: This is me: guilty as charged. I have no idea for a resolution for this one. Accepting suggestions. Please comment below. :)
DISCLAIMER: These are opinions and come mostly from screwing up. :)
Problem: phone conversations
Resolution: make your phone calls on the way to and from work or on lunch
Problem: hang out time
Resolution: I try to make "friend dinner plans" after 8:30 pm which is after bedtime
Problem: expectations
Resolution: have a conversation, a lot of hurt is developed when people start assuming feelings and situations about others.
Problem: inconsistency
Resolution: Be consistent - the thing I most regret when I went back to work is the pattern of inconsistency I developed while working. I couldn't find balance. I have learned to set reminders in my cell phone to call people back.
Problem: homebody
Resolution: This is me: guilty as charged. I have no idea for a resolution for this one. Accepting suggestions. Please comment below. :)
DISCLAIMER: These are opinions and come mostly from screwing up. :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)